To Top

All The winners at the 2019 SAFTAs

The 13th annual South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs), managed under the custodianship of the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF),took place on 2 March 2019 at the Sun City Superbowl.

The primary objective of the SAFTAs is to honour, celebrate and promote the creativity, quality, and excellence of South African Film and Television talent and productions, and to encourage entrepreneurship and the development of new talent within the industry.

The biggest weekend of the local awards season kicked off Saturday afternoon when the first awards were handed.The star-studded event kicked off at 19:00 with the red carpet, hosted by Rorisang Thandekiso, and the main event kicked off at 20:00 in the Sun City Superbowl.

The ceremony was hosted by Pearl Modiadie and Thomas Msengana

The theme for the annual awards show was ‘Dare to Dream’ a celebration of all those who dare to dream in the industry.

Uzalo won the Best TV Soap award, The River won Best Telenovela, The River was also voted Most Popular Soap and Sivuyile Ngesi was voted Best Presenter by the public.

Khotso Nkhatho and Simon Bruinders received Lifetime Achievement Awards and Layla Swart was the recipient of the Youth Achiever Award sponsored by Ster-Kinekor.

Sew the Winter to My Skin won Best Feature film.

See the full list of winners here:


Best TV Soap


Best Actress – TV Soap

Kgomotso Christopher – Scandal!

Best Actor – TV Soap

Jamie Bartlett – Rhythm City

Best Supporting Actress – TV Soap

Gcina Mkhize – Isibaya

Best Supporting Actor – TV Soap

Abdul Khoza – Isibaya

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Soap

Phiwe Mkhanzi and Sthembiso Mathenjwa – Isibaya

Best Telenovela

The River

Best Actress – Telenovela

Moshidi Motshegwa – The River

Best Actor – Telenovela

Presley Chweneyagae – The River

Best Supporting Actress – Telenovela

Vele Manenje – Ring Of Lies Season 2

Best Supporting Actor – Telenovela

Lawrence Maleka – The River

Best Achievement in Directing – Telenovela

Johnny Barbuzano, Catharine Cooke, Zolani Phakade and Ferry Jele – The River

Best TV Drama

Lockdown 2     

Best Actress – TV Drama

Dawn Thandeka King – Lockdown 2

Best Actor – TV Drama

Mothusi Magano – Emoyeni

Best Supporting Actress – TV Drama

Lorcia Cooper – Lockdown 2

Best Supporting Actor – TV Drama

S’dumo Mtshali – Is’thunzi Season 2

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Drama

Vincent Moloi  – Tjovitjo

Best TV Comedy            

Tali’s Wedding Diary

Best Actress – TV Comedy

Julia Anastasopoulos – Tali’s Wedding Diary

Best Actor – TV Comedy

Hannes Brummer – Elke Skewe Pot 2

Best Supporting Actress – TV Comedy

Nomsa Buthelezi – Abo Mzala 3

Best Supporting Actor – TV Comedy      

Warren Masemola – Single Galz

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Comedy

Ari Kruger – Tali’s Wedding Diary

Best Talk Show

Thando Bares All

Best TV Presenter        

Sivuyile Ngesi – The Man Cave Season 6

Most Popular TV Soap/Telenovela

The River


Best Feature Film          

Sew the Winter to my Skin        

Best Achievement in Directing – Feature Film

Ellen, The Ellen Pakkies Story – Daryne Joshua

Best Actress – Feature Film        

Jill Levenberg – Ellen, The Ellen Pakkies Story

Best Actor – Feature Film          

Jarrid Geduld – Ellen, The Ellen Pakkies Story

Best Supporting Actress – Feature Film 

Ilse Klink – Stroomop

Best Supporting Actor – Feature Film    

Zolisa Xaluva – Sew the Winter to my Skin

Best Documentary Feature

Everything Must Fall

Best Short Film


Lifetime Achievement Awards

Khotso Nkhatho

Simon Bruinders

Youth Achiever Award

Layla Swart

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Entertainment